Small Boutique Fashion Week

Anyone interested in fashion has probably heard of Fashion Week, where designers showcase their newest styles over the period of a week.  There are Fashion Weeks all over the globe – New York, London, Milan, and Paris, just to name a few.  Every week is Fashion Week somewhere around the world.  Right now, Fashion Week is in New York City for the Women’s Fall/Winter 2016 collections.

What you may not know is that inside of NYC Fashion Week, is Small Boutique Fashion Week (SBFW).  I’m not sure why they call it a Fashion Week as, technically, it looks like a day. TODAY.  They’ve had such strong demand, that they’re having three shows today – noon, 4 pm, and 8 pm.

According to their website

SBFW is the only business-oriented runway show and market geared toward small business owners, emerging designers, and novelty designers that are looking to get their start by selling to small boutiques and unique shops.”

While I’ve always been interested in fashion, I haven’t really known much about how the industry works until I started JoJo Mac Handbags.  I know how to design.  I know business.  I don’t know the fashion industry.  So, every day is a learning experience as I try to get up to speed.

SBFW has two shows a year – one going on now in NYC, and another in Atlanta in July.  I just applied for the one in Atlanta.  Currently, I’m not interested in working with big department stores, as I’m not big enough to handle the volume or the financing.  However, selling to boutiques is exactly what I’d like to do.  I’m crossing my fingers that I’ll be accepted to this event to get my feet wet in the tough fashion industry.

In the meantime, if you know of a boutique, or are a boutique, that you think would be interested in my handbags, please send me an email at info@jojomachandbags.

If you live in New York City, here are the designers showcased today:

12 PM

Marce Designers Atelier
The Poncho Palace
Nasea
OurKulture Clothing
Laqu Adornments
Shantress Sada
Maison Monet

4PM

Savannah Banana (cw)
Misifits Rebelion
Pretty Girls Posh Couture (cw)
Prospere
Young Royalty (cw)
Wise Guy Apparel
Clothigami (cw)
NY Chula
Bella Lavie
Yummy Cute Clothingline (cw)

8PM

Preston Walker
House of Zero
Heritage 1978
House of Sadia
Elle Est. Designs
Bryant Alexander Brand
Inspired New York
The Shirley Elle Collection
Tiffany Brown Designs
Luvin Me LLC
Robert Greco Couture
Dreu Beckemberg

Leave a Reply

